Glorious Riches 

Isn’t it funny how you can know a verse in your mind, and then know a verse in your heart! This specific verse is one I have had head knowledge of for a long time, I’ve known the verse word perfect for as long as I can remember, it goes like this; “And my God shall supply all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus”

(It’s found in Philippians 4:19)

You wouldn’t believe how many times I have prayed this verse over my family in financial difficulties, in times of unexpected sickness leading to a loss in finances or just when things have gotten a little overloaded and my bank account is virtually screaming no more… and In that moment I’ve asked God to step in with his supply to meet our need. I can recount numerous times that God has stepped in and made a way where my humanity could never see, where it just couldn’t be done without divine interruption. 

However this morning in church I was thinking over the truth of standing in victory because of the death and resurrection of Christ singing ‘Mighty Cross’, what a beautiful song, “Hallelujah Hallelujah, it is won for me”. What lyrics. This morning I was happily thanking God because it is done for me, it is won for me and so I live in that victory. 

But my mind strolled back to my previous week and I was putting my petitions before God, my why’s and my whatnots and I was praying them out when this verse became real for me. 

You see this verse, it’s more than a physical need met in Christ. 

Gods riches are more than physical, God meets our needs with grace, mercy, love, his peace that passes our understanding, wisdom, discernment etc.. etc … the list is endless. 

This morning I felt as though God was saying ‘leave the rest here and I’ll do with it what I’ve done before, I will supply your need for Grace, and Peace according to my riches in Glory!’ You may not know but Elevation Worship wrote a song named ‘Do It Again’ which says; “This is my Confidence, you have never failed me yet“. I can stand today knowing I can be victorious leaving my heart thoughts and my life problems at the throne of grace because there my God will meet my need! Even when the road ahead looks rocky, even when my life seems to be dry, even on the mountaintop, God is providing my every need. 

Leave a Reply

