When dried Bones Rose…

I absolutely love the song “The Great I AM” because it is a reminder of how big, and powerful my God is, it is a reminder that nothing and no one can stand in His way and that He is the almighty, The Great I AM, past, present and continuous. However today as we sang this song in our church I was drawn to the words; “I want to see dry bones living again, singing as one, Hallelujah!”

My mind went into a whirl of thoughts and ideas and then it stopped right on the words of scripture found in Ezekiel 37, “Surely I (the Lord) will cause breath to enter into you, and you shall live. I will put sinews on you and bring flesh upon you, cover you with skin and put breath in you; and you shall live. Then you shall know that I am the LORD”. This is one of my favourite passages of scripture. Can you imagine being Ezekiel, standing in a Valley of Dry, empty, lifeless bones, and prophesying the words of God Himself, hearing the rattle of bones, and seeing this great army arise?

I would have no words to describe this moment, but I began to think how amazing it would be if this was the story of our Christian walks, some of us have dry bones inside of us. Lurking in the shadows and the Valleys of our souls and we ignore them because there is fruit of labour in other areas of our lives, or we ignore them because it seems unimportant but just as God asked Ezekiel I believe he would ask of us, can your dry bones live again quenched by the unending love and fountain of Grace that overflows from the prince of peace?

I say yes, I say God pour into my life and allow an army of God to rise up in my spirit, in my church, in my community. Rise up so that we will take our place, then our communities and our families will know who the I am is!

Let us be as Jonathan in 1 Samuel 14, who goes to fight the Philistines, knowing that this could be his final day, requesting his Armour Bearer to join him. they leave the camp of King Saul, his father, with the words, “it may be that the LORD will work for us. For nothing restrains the LORD from saving by many or by few”. Nothing restrains the Lord, not even these dry bones, not the Valley, nor the desert. Not few, nor many.

I am always blown away by the response of this armour bearer. “Do all that is in your heart. Go then; here I am with you, according to your heart.” History tells us that this young man, not even named in scripture was there with one sole purpose and that was to carry additional weapons for the commander.

The Bible tells us in 1 Samuel 13; “Then the Philistines gathered together to fight with Israel, thirty thousand chariots and six thousand horsemen, and people as the sand which is on the seashore in multitude.” This was known by Jonathan and yet he took a stand for His people, and ran at what could have been defeat in the hope that God was with them and for them.
Today my heart is heavy as it looks around hoping and wishing to see more Jonathans, more Armour Bearers, more people willing to Prophesy over the nations in which we live. People daring to see God move as the Great I AM. God is unchanging and never failing. He is the Jehovah Jireh of all we need and all we could hope to be. God is blessed when we step out for him.

I desire as God loving and fearing Christian to be the person who steps out for God in my church and in my community. Are you? Are you willing to say God use me? Are you willing to run at impossible situations because God’s name is in question, or because someone feels unloved and the light shining so deeply in you could scatter the darkness for others?

Are you willing to be an armour bearer, an unnamed person who simply encourages others to do whatever God has placed so deeply in their heart? Are you Ezekiel? Will you be willing to see the dry bones rise?
I long for these instances on a daily basis in my life, and for some of the time that means me stepping out and being one of these people in my day. God will move when we ask it of him, God will bless, and God will take our hands but what would our world look like if we all, as a band of believers stood up as the army of God, took our place, and ran at the enemy…. That’s the church I want to belong to!

IMG_6948.PNG

Leave a Reply

