Reminders by a 2 year old… #ButJesus

In May this year I had the opportunity, along with some great friends, to head to Colour conference in London. While there I had planned to buy my little ones who are 4 and 2 a little gift and thought what better for our regular afternoon dance parties than Hillsongs Kids!! So it was purchased, a little excitedly I should add!

Needless to say with much excitement my girls opened it and danced like mad all around our kitchen until they could dance no more, every day!

However recently due to a busy lifestyle we have the CD in the car for the morning nursery run for my eldest. This is vast becoming my favourite part of the day as they hum and sing along to ‘their CD’. Never does my 2 year old make actual words so it can be cute listening to her shout and sing in her own way and listen to her worship to God.

Well that was until this week. Ava Rose is our precious little 2 year old with a feisty, and passionate personality. She has a gutsy side that says ‘I know what I’m after’ and we love her for it although let’s be honest head strong 2 year olds can be fun to parent.

This week on Tuesday afternoon in a panic to get my Husband and our little Emily dressed in time for Sunshine Corner, our kids ministry at church (and all mams know how crazy that can be) she came running into the kitchen singing:

Everything’s ok
Everything’s alright
Cause I’ve got Jesus in my life!

My husband and I glanced at each other and as she darted out the back to play we smiled, not only on our faces but our hearts. In the madness and mess of our kitchen with a pile of dinner dishes, and a half dressed 4 year old we stopped and saw a glimpse of God in our child. For in 1 CD with 15 songs our little one had picked up the most valuable lesson of all, ‘everything is alright because we have Jesus!’

Yes bad days come, yes the road isn’t always easy and trials tire us and lead us to despair BUT… oh how I love the Buts, but Jesus. It’s like a hashtag all of it’s own #ButJesus.

But Jesus is always fighting for you! But Jesus will always be with you!
But Jesus knows that pain and He will guide you through!
But Jesus knows what we don’t about that situation!
But Jesus has a plan… Hold on tight!
But Jesus is a rock who cannot be moved!
But Jesus!

You know this week we have been reminded of the most valuable lesson us Christians can ever be made aware of and I will hold on to it, I will stand on His promise to never leave nor forsake me, and I will have hope in an anchor safe and secure, in the lost and lonely places because I have Jesus and everything is alright!

Like the old hymn writer penned it so beautifully:
When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well with my soul.
Refrain:
It is well with my soul,
It is well, it is well with my soul.

My prayer is that one day this will be true for both of my girls that it will be well with their soul!

IMG_5167.JPG

Leave a Reply

