Which man are you?

Recently I have been studying the book of Nehemiah, to be truthful it was for no other reason than I had just finished a New Testament book and couldn’t remember what Nehemiah entailed. To my surprise this book has shown me a lot about what we should be as Christians but some of those things were found in Chapter 3.

The background to this chapter is simply that Nehemiah felt it on his heart to go and rebuild the walls of Jerusalem. To take away the disgrace that was left. Chapter 3 tells us of the men who helped in this process of rebuilding. It was here I noticed two things. Firstly these men all worked together, they took a piece each and built up what had been ruined. Working together got the job done quicker and allowed each man time to do it effectively as well as quickly amongst other things.

I also noticed that chapter 4 verse 6 states that they came with an attitude to work so they came willing to put in as much effort as they could, but also they came and used skills that they probably didn’t even know they had. As we read through the chapter 3, Nehemiah makes mention of some of their skills, Goldsmiths, Merchants and Perfumers. No where here does it make mention to these men being of the building trade. This implies to me that they stepped out of their comfort zones and began working at building up this city for Gods glory, even if it meant training themselves to do something that they may have never done before.

For me this is how we should be as Christians. We should be people who want to stand in the gap and build up our Jerusalem. Whether that is the houses we live in, the people we work with, or the churches we attend. I believe God has something for each one of us to do and it is up to us to take a stand and to, when necessary, leap from our comfort zones in to the unknown and help in whatever way God asks of us.

However today on the week coming up to father’s day I am led to wonder, is the dads and the mams of our society Nehemiah men and women who stand in the gap and build up the church of God and the families they live in to love and fear God? Or would God say of them Ezekiel 22:30? “I looked for a man among them who would build up the wall and stand before me in the gap on behalf of the land so I would not have to destroy it, BUT I found none.”

My prayer this Father’s day is that the men I am in contact with, be it in church, in my family, my friends, would always be Nehemiah Men, that the words of Ezekiel would never be the picture covering the canvas of their lives.

With all the above said, I am thankful this father’s day for a Nehemiah Man as the father to my little girls and the head of my home. I am thankful that while Gerald and I have had hard times, and it has not always been easy we are the result of a Romans 8:28 God, a passage of scripture my marriage is built on, that allows my husband to always come out fighting, building and preparing. I honour my husband this Fathers day; I honour him for who he is and who God is making him.

20140612-215626-78986329.jpg

20140612-215626-78986646.jpg

Leave a Reply

