Mustard seed of faith: 2

I recently wrote a blog based on a mustard seed of faith. A verse in the bible Matthew 17:20 states If we have faith as small as a mustard seed we can say to a mountain move from here to here and it will move.

However tonight in my own personal reading I noticed that the mustard seed is not only mentioned in Matthew but it is also mentioned in Mark 4:30-32. This verse reads as follows: again he said, “

What shall we say the kingdom of God is like, or what parable shall we use to describe it? It is like a mustard seed, which is the smallest of all seeds on earth. Yet when planted, it grows and becomes the largest of all garden plants, with such big branches that the birds can perch in it’s shade.’

Today for the first I happened to notice 3 small words: ‘Yet When Planted’. This drew me back to the original blog I had written and I realised a spiritual life changing aspect. I can have all the faith in the world but until I plant it, Until I sow the seed of faith into the hand of God it is useless. Note that it says when planted it grows into the largest tree in the garden but not before. I can hold a mustard seed in my hand for years but nothing will come of it. I can live with it, I can feel better because I own it but until I do something with it it is simply just that, a seed. Likewise with faith I can say “but I have faith”. I can even decide I believe but until I put my faith in God himself I am simply using the words the disciples did, which causes me to feel the same way they did on the boat in the storm. Note Jesus reply, ‘oh you of little faith.’

However the bible also tells us that It is through faith a righteous person has life: Romans 1:17. Therefore I can only presume that if we have faith to believe in a saviour, God, Christ, Trinity, salvation and justification then we are required to put that faith into action and rely on God the Father to see us through into abundant life.

Planting faith in some circumstances can be hard but it is a necessity if we want to see God move in our lives. As we plant seeds into the ground of the Farmer, and allow Him to water and care for it then we will see fruit, and a harvest to reap from the promises we have stood in.

20140507-213418.jpg

Leave a Reply

