And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them. For God knew his people in advance, and he chose them to become like his Son, so that his Son would be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters. And having chosen them, he called them to come to him. And having called them, he gave them right standing with himself. And having given them right standing, he gave them his glory. (Romans 8:28-30 NLT)

My husband and I have spent the last few months getting by daily on this very promise, Romans 8:28 for all things work together for those who love The Lord.
However recently I’ve been thinking over this verse and passage of scripture and was led to focus on the latter part which says ‘according to His purpose for them’. Wow for one that God should have a purpose for each one of us. A special and unique purpose for us to fulfil.
For me these verses says many things. It tells us that God has foreknowledge of my beginnings and my end. This brings me comfort in knowing God has a big picture drawn out for me but It also says that He wants us to become like His son, that he gives us right standing with Him, and not only that but Glory!
Today this verse spoke to me about my purpose and my destiny. It spoke into my heart, a heart that has been forgiven time and time again, and God showed me that all things work out for those who love God because we have all been called to a purpose. As for what the purpose is for each person I have no idea, missionary, minister, evangelist, worship leader, lawyer, shop assistant, artist, the list is endless but each one has the same main focus and purpose. That purpose is to be more like Christ. To become justified heirs to the throne of grace and the siblings of Jesus by adoption and unmerited love.
Today I trust that God not only works out all things because I love Him and I am devoted to His ways but also because He loves me enough to say I have a plan for you and together we will get you there. Together I will work out all things if you just hold my hand and trust me.
My purpose, my days, the pages of my book are written before me and God will use it all in developing my life, and the lives of those that I come into contact with.
Today I say God use me for your purpose, use my past , my present and my future and for your Glory. Let me live in the freedom your spirit has given to me and let me always be aware that your ways are higher than my ways and all things are used for your glory and divine purpose.

2 thoughts on “Our purpose

Leave a comment