Thanksgiving

Today is the American holiday of thanksgiving. What does this day really represent? Is it just the turkey and trimmings?
Thanksgiving is defined as ‘the expression of gratitude, especially to God’.
The Thanksgiving festival was generated as a time to be thankful for the harvests that God provided that year.
As I live in Ireland I’ve never really celebrated thanksgiving but I do feel a draw to the concept of honouring and celebrating the provisions that God has given to us. That He has blessed us with and that He has bestowed into our lives.
This thanksgiving I am thankful for so many things: my husband, Gerald, what a man he is. We, as a couple, have come such a long way together and I honour him today in being my love, my best friend, and the best daddy I know.
I am thankful for my two beautiful little girls, my stubborn, strong willed, funny, clever and loving little ladies. There is nothing like a cuddle and a kiss from them, or listening to their jokes, or having them bake alongside me, or seeing them snuggle up to or play with their daddy.
I am thankful for my family, I am thankful that I have a family who love and care for not only me, but also my husband and my girls.
I am thankful for a roof over my head, clothes on my back, food on our plates, a freedom in my faith to worship God without persecution, for comforts, for worship leaders, for pastors, for friends, for spiritual mothers and fathers, for toys that entertain and develop my princesses, for my car (no matter how damaged) for my bible, for my journals that keep me sane.
I am so thankful for all of the things and more that I have listed but the truth is, as I think on today I am most thankful for my God. For without Him I am nothing and all of the above is nothing. I know how to love because God imparted into me a heart that could love, I know how to have joy because God created me with a smile and an inner love for the funny things in life. I know who I am because God says I created you and you are good. I am His and He is mine. I am Gods child, and I am thankful that he sent His only son so that He could therefore adopt me into His home, His family, as His heir to the throne, that one day I would worship with the angels at His feet.
Today I honour the people who have impacted my life for the good and the bad but I am thankful from the deepest part of my soul for my God. For with Him all things have meaning.

Leave a Reply

