A letter for Rebecca

Hi Rebecca,
You may never know me but biologically I am your auntie. I am the woman you are supposed to tell all of your secrets to. The substitute mammy for when you need back up over the silly things. I am the woman who instantly felt love towards you even though I only heard via a third Person you were born. Oh how I wish I could meet you. That I could hold you as a baby and hold your hand as a teenager and young woman. To see you grow and flourish in the things of God and the joys that life throws at us.

The only wise words I would have to give you stem from 26 years of experience. The dos and donts of life are always harder learnt when we learn the hard way but someday I hope that you grow and you learn life’s hardest lessons early.

That you learn your beautiful inside and out and no ones opinion matters of you except that of God. For you are fearfully and wonderfully made for such a time as this. What ever your gifts and callings are, they are all for today, they are all to be used and they are all for Gods glory.

I pray that you realise early in life that you are more than looks. You are capable of anything you put your mind to because myself and your uncle Gerald are behind you even though we are not there physically.

I hope and I pray that you pick your friends wisely. True friends stay no matter what happens. True friends love you no matter how silly you are or serious, no matter how much you study or not, true friends are few but make lots of acquaintances. Be sociable but do not give your life or love to those you cannot trust. Love, live and laugh. Be happy in all things because God is in control. Trust your gut it is a good method to discern people.

Chose the men you date with dignity. Just because they do not look like a model does not make them less of a person. Sometimes the quiet quirky guy can be the most interesting as he will make you happy when your sad and make you feel safe when all is lost. He is the one who will stay when everything seems to be flying away.

When you chose to Love, do so with all your heart and hold nothing back.

Travel, sightsee, have fun before you have a family. Life is harder when babies are born and you don’t get to do as much. Babies are a blessing timed or unplanned. They are amazing gifts from God but wait! Wait until you are married happily, wait until you are secure in who you are, just wait. They are amazing but there is plenty of time for all of that.

I know your cousins would love to meet you. The day you were born my daughters were 2 and 11 months and 1 year and 3 months old. They love babies so I know they would love you. Their names are Emily Margaret and Ava Rose.

One day maybe, I hope we will meet and I will tell you from the bottom of my heart how much I wish I could have been there but until then I am reserved to praying every day for you. That God would reveal His true self to you and that you would know how utterly special you are to us all.

Be everything you want to be and let no one not even your parents tell you otherwise.

You are miss Rebecca Treacy made for now, born today and loved always!

22.08.2013

Leave a Reply

